Have You Ever Felt Abandoned by God? Psalm 22:1

Today’s Scripture Reading: Psalms 22-26

At noon, darkness fell across the whole land until three o’clock.  At about three o’clock, Jesus called out with a loud voice, “Eli, Eli, lema sabachthani?” which means “My God, my God, why have you abandoned me?”  —Matthew 27:45-46

I’ve read and heard these words countless times over the years but today I saw them in Psalms 22 and I was surprised:

My God, my God, why have you abandoned me?
Why are you so far away when I groan for help?  
Every day I call to you, my God, but you do not answer.
Every night you hear my voice, but I find no relief.
Yet you are holy, enthroned on the praises of Israel.
Our ancestors trusted in you, and you rescued them.
They cried out to you and were saved.
They trusted in you and were never disgraced.    —Psalms 22:2-5
 

Yes, David penned those words many years before Jesus shouted them on the cross.

Jesus AND David felt abandoned by God.

Have you ever felt abandoned by God?

Have you ever felt like God did not answer?

David used a word that we need to remember when we feel abandoned:

Yet

My paraphrase of Psalm 22:1-5

Lord, I feel like you’ve abandoned me.  I call you, but You do not answer.  I know You hear me, but you are sending me no relief.

Yet, 

You are still holy.  

You still deserved my praise.  

Our ancestors trusted You when they felt abandoned.  

They cried out to You and You saved them.  

They were never disgraced by trusting You.  

So I’m going to do the same.

Do you feel abandoned today?

Tell the Lord exactly how you feel and when you’ve said all you need to say, add this line:

Yet, You are Holy Lord.  I don’t understand but I praise You and I trust You.

In Jesus’ Name.  Amen and Amen!

 

©2012, Dianne Guthmuller

Tomorrow’s Scripture Reading: Psalms 27-32

This entry was posted in 2012 Journey, Believing God in the Hard Times, Faith, Holiness, Prayer, Psalms, Rejection, The Cross, The Hurting World, Tough Times, Trials, Trust and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Have You Ever Felt Abandoned by God? Psalm 22:1

Comments are closed.