He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not

Today’s Scripture Reading:  Job 30:1 through Job 31:40

After reading today’s passage a couple of times a pattern seemed to develop.  I counted nineteen questions Job asked in these two chapters.

When Job finished his list of questions and realized he had done all the things he thought God wanted him to do; he couldn’t understand why he felt so unloved and abandoned.  It seems from everything we have read that Job’s greatest desire was to please God.  Job must have felt heart-broken when he “thought” God wasn’t pleased with him.

We know about God’s conversation with Satan.  We know God was so proud of Job that he bragged about ‘his servant Job’ to the Accuser (Job 1:6-8).  But Job didn’t know this.  If Job could have been a fly on the wall during that conversation he would have walked through this trial with his head held high.  But he didn’t know…and neither do we.

We do the same thing as Job.  We say things like, “God, why is this happening to me?

I…

  • Go to Church
  • Give to the poor
  • Pay my tithe
  • Am honest
  • Don’t cheat on my taxes
  • Care for my neighbor
  • Read my Bible
  • I pray everyday

…Well, I guess God doesn’t  love me or He has forgotten me”…just like Job.

Maybe, just maybe God has said, “Satan, have you noticed my servant   __ (insert your name) __.  He/she is the finest man/woman in all the earth.  He/she is blameless—a man/woman of complete integrity.  He/she fears God and stays away from evil (Job 1:8).”

Because Job didn’t know about Jesus he didn’t realize  “there’s nothing you can do to make God love you more and there’s nothing you can do to make God love you  less.”  (A quote I’ve heard many times over the years)

If you’re going through a “Job-like” season of life, run to your heavenly Father, climb up in his lap and wait out the storm.  Settle the question once and for all, HE LOVES YOU (John 3:16)!

Click here to visit blog

©2012, Dianne Guthmuller

Tomorrow’s Scripture Reading:  Job 32:1 through Job 34:37

This entry was posted in 2012 Journey, Faith, Job, Tough Times, Trials, Trust and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not

  1. Pingback: ***Candle Lighter & Kreativ Blogger Award**** | Walking in Step with the Lord

Comments are closed.