Who Do You Know That’s Crying for Help? Psalm 69

Today’s Scripture Reading:  Psalm 68 through 70; Psalm 86; Psalm 101

Many years ago I had a dear friend who made a one night mistake that wound up taking her life.

For years I didn’t know what was wrong; finally about ten months before she died she told me—she had A.I.D.S.  I knew she had been very sick, but the naïve person that I am would have never suspected that dreaded disease.

A few days following that life-changing conversation the Holy Spirit prompted me to write prayers from the scriptures everyday for my friend and mail them to her.

Not long after I began the daily prayers I came across Psalm 69.  The Lord used this Psalm to show me the pain, sadness, shame, loneliness and desperation my friend was going through.

Save me, O God,
for the floodwaters are up to my neck.
2 Deeper and deeper I sink into the mire;
I can’t find a foothold.
I am in deep water,
and the floods overwhelm me.
3 I am exhausted from crying for help;
my throat is parched.
My eyes are swollen with weeping,
waiting for my God to help me.
4 Those who hate me without cause
outnumber the hairs on my head.
Many enemies try to destroy me with lies,
demanding that I give back what I didn’t steal.

5 O God, you know how foolish I am;
my sins cannot be hidden from you.
6 Don’t let those who trust in you be ashamed because of me,
O Sovereign Lord of Heaven’s Armies.
Don’t let me cause them to be humiliated,
O God of Israel.
7 For I endure insults for your sake;
humiliation is written all over my face.
8 Even my own brothers pretend they don’t know me;
they treat me like a stranger.

9 Passion for your house has consumed me,
and the insults of those who insult you have fallen on me.
10 When I weep and fast,
they scoff at me.
11 When I dress in burlap to show sorrow,
they make fun of me.
12 I am the favorite topic of town gossip,
and all the drunks sing about me.

13 But I keep praying to you, Lord,
hoping this time you will show me favor.
In your unfailing love, O God,
answer my prayer with your sure salvation.
14 Rescue me from the mud;
don’t let me sink any deeper!
Save me from those who hate me,
and pull me from these deep waters.
15 Don’t let the floods overwhelm me,
or the deep waters swallow me,
or the pit of death devour me.

16 Answer my prayers, O Lord,
for your unfailing love is wonderful.
Take care of me,
for your mercy is so plentiful.
17 Don’t hide from your servant;
answer me quickly, for I am in deep trouble!
18 Come and redeem me;
free me from my enemies.

19 You know of my shame, scorn, and disgrace.
You see all that my enemies are doing.
20 Their insults have broken my heart,
and I am in despair.
If only one person would show some pity;
if only one would turn and comfort me.
21 But instead, they give me poison[
a] for food;
they offer me sour wine for my thirst.

I am suffering and in pain.
Rescue me, O God, by your saving power.

30 Then I will praise God’s name with singing,
and I will honor him with thanksgiving.
31 For this will please the Lord more than sacrificing cattle,
more than presenting a bull with its horns and hooves.
32 The humble will see their God at work and be glad.
Let all who seek God’s help be encouraged.
 33 For the Lord hears the cries of the needy;
he does not despise his imprisoned people.

Friends, someone you know is crying for help today!

No, my friend wasn’t healed of her sickness.

She went through tremendous physical and emotional suffering but at God’s perfect time she was rescued from it all; like David she praised God’s name with singing and honored Him with thanksgiving.  She told me of multiple “God moments” during her last days and wrote many beautiful songs that are still blessing others today.

There are many, many people suffering today and crying out for help.  You and I may be God’s answer to their prayers.  Yes, we feel helpless, but if we step out to help them God will make a way for us to know how they feel.

Thank you David for being obedient to God and opening up your heart to give us a glimpse your pain so that we may comfort others.

Lord, I pray that you will use us to help the hurting!  No, we can’t help everyone, but we can help one.  Show us the “one”  Holy Spirit.   Help them to “Hold Fast, Help is on the Way.”  Use us Jesus to be your hands to the hurting.

In Jesus Name, Amen and Amen!

 “Hold Fast, Help is on the Way” by Mercy Me

©2012, Dianne Guthmuller

Tomorrow’s Scripture Reading:  Psalm 103; Psalms 108 through 110; Psalms 122, 124

This entry was posted in 2012 Journey, Depression, Divorce, Failure, Friendship, Holy Spirit, My story, Rejection. Bookmark the permalink.