A Dirty Job

Today’s Scripture Reading:  Leviticus 4:1 through Leviticus 6:30

One of the things about Leviticus that draws me closer to God is the provision He made for the redemption of sin. The attention to detail and the great lengths God went through to make sure there was a way of escape amazes me.  Yes, it was bloody and stinky, but there was a way out!

Try to imagine the reality of what we are reading.  It certainly gives new meaning to getting dirty at work.  Mike Rowe, from Dirty Jobs would have certainly made a show about the Levite Priests if he would have lived in those days.

When I think about everything the Levite Priests had to do, it makes me wonder if it was a blessing or a curse to be “chosen”to be a priest.  God always made a way of escape for sin.

When was the first time you realized you had sin in your life?  When did you become aware of your sin (4:23)?

I was in the fourth or fifth grade.  My Mom, brother and I attended Hiland Park Baptist Church is Panama City, Florida.  We faithfully attended Sunday school and church each week.  I can’t remember how many weeks I felt this way, but Sunday after Sunday I would feel the conviction of my sinfulness.  You may be thinking what kind of sin could a fifth grader have committed?  Oh, I’m sure I had done things I shouldn’t have, but this conviction was about the sinfulness (sinful nature) that I inherited from my great, great…grandparents Adam and Eve.

At ten years old I got it!  I knew I needed a Savior.

One Sunday I responded to the pastor’s invitation to invite Jesus into my heart to clean up my sinful nature.  No I didn’t have to bring an animal to be slaughtered for my sin. I just had to admit that I was a sinner and ask Jesus to forgive me!  Whew, I’m glad I’m a New Testament girl!

The Old Testament is a foreshadowing (the act of providing vague advance indications) of the New Testament.  The living-out of the Law that we are reading about helps us to realize our need of a Savior.  There is no way anyone could be perfect enough to keep all those rules and regulations. When Jesus came and died for us he became the ultimate sacrifice.  In verses 24-30 of chapter 6 we read about the holiness of the body and blood of the animal that was sacrificed.  Sounds like the body and blood of Christ that we remember in the Lord’s Supper (1 Corinthians 10:16).

As we read the details of the rules, regulations, and sacrifices in Leviticus let’s thank God after every verse for sending His Son, Jesus to be the ultimate sacrifice for our sins!

Click here to visit blog

©2012, Dianne Guthmuller

Tomorrow’s Scripture Reading:  Leviticus 7:1 through Leviticus 8:36

This entry was posted in 2012 Journey, Leviticus, Sin and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to A Dirty Job

Comments are closed.