Do You Live in the Land of Forgetfulness? Psalms 88:12

Today’s Scripture Reading: Psalms 144-145; 88-89

Are your wonderful deeds of any use to the dead?

Do the dead rise up and praise you?

Can those in the grave declare your unfailing love?

Can they proclaim your faithfulness in the place of destruction?

Can the darkness speak of your wonderful deeds?

Can anyone in the land of forgetfulness talk about your righteousness?                      –Psalms 88:10-12

God’s blessings are useless to the dead and those who can’t remember them.

Can I go as far as saying that in the context of these verses ‘not’ remembering God’s blessings is the same as being dead?

I know that I hate it when I forget something.  Unfortunately, things like brain overload, stress, aging, etc. can cause us to be forgetful.

I wonder if God says in an understanding way, “They are just so busy; they forgot.”

They forgot…

  • Who provided the job
  • Who provided the nice salary
  • Who blessed them with a spouse and kids
  • Where their talents and gifts came from

How do you think God feels about our forgetfulness?

Heavenly Father, help me not to live in the land of forgetfulness.  If I begin showing signs  going there, get my attention.  I don’t want to forget all that you have done for me!  Jesus, thank you for the cross.

In Your Name I pray.  Amen and Amen!

Click here to visit blog

©2011, Dianne Guthmuller

Tomorrow’s Scripture Reading: Psalms 50; Psalms 73-74

This entry was posted in Giving Our Best to God, Parenting, Psalms, Rejection, The 2011 Prayer Journey, The Journey to Knowing Him More and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Do You Live in the Land of Forgetfulness? Psalms 88:12

  1. Colleen says:

    Thanks so much for this post. I find myself surrounded by negativity some days and crank up the praize music to combat it. This post reminds me of another tool I neglect to use: my journal of praise!

    • The Journey led by Dianne Guthmuller says:

      Music and written praise! An amazing combination!

      Praying for you today!

  2. Pingback: Forgetting I…in 5 « HOPEannFAITH

Comments are closed.