April 14, 2010—It’s Not Where You Start, It’s Where You Finish

Today’s Scripture Reading:  1 Samuel 17:32 through 19:17, Psalm 59, 1 Samuel 19:18-24

Two amazing men chosen by God—one will have the name of “a man after God’s own heart” and the other will be an everlasting example of what not to do. 

Let’s go back to the beginning of David and Saul’s lives and see what we can learn from them:

Both were chosen by God:

  • Now the Lord had told Samuel the previous day, “About this time tomorrow I will send you a man from the land of Benjamin.  Anoint him (Saul) to be the leader of my people. (1 Samuel  (9:15-16)
  • And the Lord, said, “this is the one; anoint him.”  So as David stood there among his brothers, Samuel took the flask of olive oil he had brought and anointed David with the oil.  (1 Samuel 16:12-13)

Both had the Spirit of the Lord upon them:

  • When you (Saul) arrive at Gibeah of God…At that time the spirit of the Lord will come powerfully upon you and you will prophesy with them. You will be changed into a different person. (1 Samuel 10:6)
  • So as David stood there among his brothers, Samuel took the flask of olive oil he had brought and anointed David with the oil.  And the Spirit of the Lord cam powerfully upon David from that day on.  (1 Samuel 16:13)

Both Saul and David were humble men:

  • When Samuel met Saul and told him that “he and his family would be the focus of all Israel’s hopes” Saul replied, “but I’m only from the tribe of Benjamin, the smallest tribe in Israel, and my family is the least important of all the families of that tribe!  Why are you talking like this to me?”  (1 Samuel 9:20-21)
  • When Saul offered David his daughter Merab, David replied, “Who am I, and what is my family in Israel that I should be the king’s son-in-law?” David exclaimed,  “My father’s family is nothing!”

What happened?  Both of these men got off to a great start… For those of us who have heard the Bible stories we know that David did some bad things as well.  In my eyes they seemed as bad as or worse than what Saul did; what was the difference?  The condition of the heart—when Saul was disobedient the first time, Samuel told Saul that his kingdom must end, for the Lord has sought out a man after his own heart.  (1 Samuel 13:14)

So God’s number one qualification for king was a man after His own heart.  Success is one of the greatest tests of the heart, even more than failure.  Saul’s immediate success and fame led him to forget who made him king.  If Saul’s heart had been right he would have had no problem being obedient to God’s commands. 

The heart is still the most important thing the Lord looks at.  We can say and do the right things but it’s the heart that God judges. A heart full of pride cannot totally follow after God!

Holy Spirit, show us the areas of our heart that aren’t pleasing to you.  Help us to repent, ask for your forgiveness and cleansing and then help us to have a heart like David!

In Jesus Name, Amen and Amen!

 
 
Click here to visit blogTomorrow’s Scripture Reading:  1 Samuel 20:1 through 1 Samuel 21:15, Psalm 34      

This entry was posted in The Journey to Knowing Him More and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to April 14, 2010—It’s Not Where You Start, It’s Where You Finish

  1. Harry says:

    As I stand waiting for steve in the dc metro one thing comes to mind …. The repentance each displayed Both screwed up. But their repentance seems remarably different. From my Blackberry.

  2. Annette says:

    A verse popped in my head, which will be my prayer today, Psalm 51:10-12 “Creat in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me. Do not cast me from your presence or take your Holy Spirit from me. Restore to me the joy of your salvation and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me.”.

    Have a blessed day!!

  3. Doreen Swanson says:

    In todays reading when Saul gave David his own armor – David protested, “I can’t go in these, I’m not used to them.” The thought came to me that we are fully equipped by God to fulfill the purposes and plans He has prepared for us. I know that I have been sidetracked in my life by well intentioned people. But, it comes down to am I doing what God wants me to be doing and am I doing it with His giftings and talents? Or, am I trying to do it through my own eyes or the eyes of someone else. Lord, I want to see everything through your eyes and I want to do it Your way!

Comments are closed.