A Plan for the Pain

A Plan for the Pain

A conversation with a friend this week-end reminded me of a lesson I learned a few years ago about dealing with our past. 

 During this particular time of my life, most every Monday morning I would get the kids off to school and go to church to pray for my business and to ask God’s blessings on my week.  I was a Sales Director with Mary Kay Cosmetics at the time.  If you’ve ever been in direct sales you know it takes faith to believe God when you are in a commission only industry.  However, during this particular time of my life I had more on my mind than money.  I was in my first year of life as a single Mom.  There was so much hurt, anger, and fear.  It seemed like everywhere I turned there was something that forced me to face the reality of my situation.  Our church was building a new sanctuary next to our old one.  For weeks, it actually seemed like months, every time I went to pray I could barely hear myself think.  These huge dirt movers would push all the dirt to one side of the property.  The next week they would move it to the opposite side.  They would dig deep holes, fill them and then do the same a week later.  It seemed like a huge waste of time and money.  One day I remember talking to the Lord about it and saying “when are they going to get serious about building our new sanctuary?”

 It certainly wasn’t an audible voice, but the thought immediately came to my mind, “they have to get every piece of trash out of that dirt before they pour the foundation; if they don’t, at some point the foundation may crack.”

 Then it really felt like the Lord said to me–Dianne, that’s what I’m doing with you.  I’m putting you in a place where you have to deal with the hurts in your life.  I want to do great things in you, through you and for you but you need a firm, flawless foundation.  We can’t begin to build until we get rid of the pain.

 After that day, it was still hard, but I knew that God had a plan for the pain.  With the help of the healing power of Jesus Christ and an amazing thing called “time” I was able to face the pain and grow through it and past it!

Luke 6:48:  He is like a man building a house, who dug down deep and laid the foundation on rock. When a flood came, the torrent struck that house but could not shake it, because it was well built.

Dear Lord, I pray for my friends who are dealing with the pain of their past.  Holy Spirit, help them to trust You to prepare to soil and lay the new foundation for the plans you have designed for them.

In Jesus Name, Amen.

This entry was posted in Life Lessons and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Plan for the Pain

  1. Elsie Miles says:

    Dianne, what a beautiful way to look at pain. God leaves not rock unturned in our lives. This story is a gift. I believe this is a mirror of my own pain and how God can use even the pain we cause others to shed light on something more meaningful and greater than ourselves. I will share this with my daughter, who is experiencing her on struggle with pain in this season of life. I, too, believe God is building a foundation in her life as well. So that, when the torrent rains comes she will be able to stand and not be shaken. Thank you, for recycling your story of faith, in order that others may be encouraged. I love you sister.

  2. Brought tears to my eyes….thank you so much for writing this and even more, for sharing it. The last 3 years of my life have been characterized by similar pain and anticipation. I am finally in a place where I can see God’s hand and it brings me comfort. I’m not there yet, don’t think that’s even possible this side of Heaven, but I’m holding His hand the way my baby girls hold mine and it’s a good place to be.

  3. Pingback: January 26, 2010-Me, Myself and I « Dianne Guthmuller

Comments are closed.