Passion Sells…

 

Have you ever heard the saying, “Passions sells!”  I have not only heard it, I’ve lived it.  I’ve been in sales my whole life.  My first sales job was selling watermelons on the side of the road as a teenager; my most exciting sales job was being a Mary Kay Sales Director and winning a Pink Cadiallac and my  last sales job at this writing was teaching bankers how to sell all across the Southeast.  In all those years I have learned that when you are passionate and believe in your product it’s easy to sell it.  Many of us sell things every day we don’t make a dime on–a great restaurant, an unbelievable shoe sale, or a place that gives bad service (we sell our friends on NOT doing business with them).

I’ve seen a whole lot of sellin’ going on recently.  I call it “Twilight mania.”The Twilight Saga Collection by Stephenie Meyer– I have not read the books but I’ve seen many of my family and friends “selling” these books to everyone they come in contact with.  This is not a post to criticize the books, the author, or anyone who has read them.  But what is really on my mind is the fact that Christians have a life-changing book at our finger tips that is  a tool that the God of the universe gave us to know Him and communicate with Him and we never talk about it, rarely open it and certainly aren’t passionate about it.    

6a00c225264d78549d00e398b9a0150004-500pi2

The book I’m talking about; the Bible is God’s letter to humanity collected into 66 books written by 40 divinely inspired writers.   As a Christian is just makes me so sad to see how screwed up our (Christians) priorities are.  No wonder people call us hypocrites; we say God is first in our lives and then we spend more of our passion and time reading and discussing some vampire book than we do the only book that can connect us with the one true God.

Many people are in desperate situations–marriage problems, financial crises, flu pandemics and all we are offering them is fantasy, a temporary escape?  Let’s wake up realize the amazing miracle we have in our hands and share it with passion everywhere we go.

If this post sparks any interest in becoming passionate about the Bible, I would highly recommend “The New Believer’s Bible.  It is the most user-friendly Bible I have ever read!  Check it out!  It will change your life!!!!!

NLT New Believers Bible: Paperback -  

This entry was posted in Priorities and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Passion Sells…

  1. Sheila says:

    You are so right! Passion does sell! I’m a sucker for the Twilight series and at one point did worry about being obsessed about it. I HAD to get to the end, therefore i needed to fly through 2 and 3 to get to the fourth book (everything ended just as I need it to, btw). I now understand the frenzy my friends have gotten into.

    I cannot remember the last time (if ever) I read the Bible with the same nail-biting emotions, but perhaps that’s because when we read the Bible we are looking for instructions, illumination, strategy, comparison, etc, and when we are reading fiction we know what we read is what we get. It’s rather mindless, if you think about it, while reading the Word is a process that takes effort, concentration and meditation.

    I agree with you – we need to have a passion for the Word of God. We need to find a nugget to share with others and allow our excitement to show through. I think that’s the beauty of Bible Studies with open forums – it’s help to “activate” people. The Bible is the only book existing that is member access only. Sure, everybody can read it, but if you don’t have the Holy Spirit, it’s not living to you and you cannot get the richness out of it, because you’re blind to it. You can’t pay your way, you can’t be “good” enough, you can’t use your influence – you need Jesus-glasses 🙂

    Thanks for the post!

    • Dianne Guthmuller says:

      Sheila, great insight! I love your point about the Bible being a members only book; it’s the Holy Spirit living in us that gives us the passion for the Word, so if you don’t know know God through his son Jesus, the Bible seems pretty boring. It’s like Kay Arthur said, in the Anointed, Transformed, Redeemed Bible study. “If the Bible is boring to you, ask the author to explain it to you.” (my paraphrase of Kay’s statement)

      Thanks for visiting my blog!

Comments are closed.